Bowen has officially sent out the schedule of classes for Summer ’10 & Fall ’10. I must admit that I am quite excited by the opportunity to actually choose my classes. Because all Full-Time 1L’s at UALR School of Law are given a nearly identical schedule for their first year, I have not spoken to anyone who can answer my questions about what classes I may want to take. For some reason I think I remember at least one of my professors mentioning something last semester about being willing to answer any questions we may have when it comes time to sign up for classes. I also have a feeling that Assistant Dean Kinsey said something about being able to help students select classes that line up with their career goals. I am really not sure what “official” channels are open to help law students here choose their courses, but I will certainly let you know what I find out. (Note: I’m probably jumping the gun with this post by not doing enough research about available “official” options, but I will certainly update this post or create a new one as more info becomes available.)

Probably my biggest concern as I start to choose my own classes, is what strategy I should use. The following are some strategies that I’ve hear:

  1. Class Selection Should Revolve Around Passing The Bar Exam – This strategy suggests that the primary goal in choosing classes should be to help you pass the bar. This strategy more-or-less disregards taking classes based on any other interests you may have. The primary question you would ask yourself before enrolling in a particular class is, “Is this subject going to be tested on the bar?”
  2. Class Selection Should Focus On A Particular Legal Concentration – The University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law doesn’t offer “certificates” in particular legal concentrations, but it does allow you to choose electives from a particular area of law. (See Course Concentrations.)
  3. Classes Should Help You Figure Out Your Interests – This strategy assumes that you have not committed yourself to a particular concentration. The idea here is that you should take as many different classes from different concentrations as you can, in hopes that you will have a better understanding of what your interests really are.
  4. Class Choices Should Maximize Your GPA – The strategy here is to choose classes and/or professors that tend to have higher GPA averages. I suppose the theory here is that an employer will look more favorably upon students with a higher GPA than students who took classes in the area of law they are being hired to work in.
  5. Hybrid – This is probably the most common strategy and likely includes elements from all the other strategies.

I’m sure there are other strategies out there but I can’t think of any at the moment. If I do, I’ll let you know.